subscribe to cinematography world

Society of Camera Operators announces Camera Operators of the Year in Film and Television

Feb 27, 2023

The recipient of Camera Operator of the Year in Film is Daniel Bishop SOC | ASSOC BSC | ACO (All Quiet On The Western Front); and the recipients of Camera Operator of the Year in Television are Dave Chameides SOC and “B” Camera Operator Cristian Trova, (Ozark, S 4 Ep 14, “A Hard Way to Go”). The award recipients were celebrated by industry peers and colleagues at the Loews Hollywood Hotel on Saturday, February 25, 2023.

Guests, nominees, and decorated industry leaders were among the hundreds who attended the SOC Awards, which returned to an in-person event for the first time since the COVID19 pandemic. A first for the awards, the SOC announced six nominees for Camera Operator of the Year in both the Film and Television categories; and for a second year, the SOC expanded nominations to include collaborative efforts and teams of operators.

Daniel Bishop SOC | ASSOC BSC | ACO took home the title of Camera Operator of the Year in Film for his work on All Quiet On The Western Front. Bishop topped a talented group of nominees in the film category, including Lukasz Bielan (Bullet Train); Mitch Dubin SOC with “B” Camera / Steadicam Operator Colin Anderson SOC (The Fabelmans); Jason Ellson SOC (Elvis); Geoffrey Haley SOC (The Gray Man); and Ari Robbins SOC (Bardo, False Chronicle Of A Handful of Truths).

Camera Operator of the Year in Film Daniel Bishop, SOC, ASSOC BSC, ACO on the
set of All Quiet on the Western Front. Photo credit: Reiner Bajo

Dave Chameides SOC and “B” Camera Operator Cristian Trova, were awarded Camera Operator of the Year in Television for their work on Ozark, S 4 Ep 14, “A Hard Way to Go”. The TV category nominees included multiple collaborative teams: Sam Ellison SOC with Camera Operator Stanley Fernandez (Severance, S 1 Ep 3, “In Perpetuity”); Sarah Levy SOC with “B” Camera / Steadicam Operator, Dominic Bartolone SOC, “C” Camera Operator, Justin Cameron, SOC, and Roller Cam Operator, John Lyke (Winning Time: The Rise Of The Lakers Dynasty, S 1 Ep 5, “Pieces of a Man”); Gary Malouf with “B” Camera Operator, Chris Dame (The Bear, S1 Ep7, “The Review”); Jarrett Morgan SOC (Atlanta, S 3 Ep 5, “Cancer Attack”); and Paul Sanchez with “B” Camera Operator Hilton Goring (The Old Man, S 1 Ep 1, “I”).

“Artistically and creatively, it has been an incredible year for film and television – just look at the amazing series, shows, and movies these operators brought to life,” shared George Billinger, SOC president. “On behalf of the SOC I want to congratulate all the nominees and recipients for their incredible efforts- thank you for sharing your talent with all of us. Your craft is truly astonishing.”

The Fabelmans

During the awards, Oscar nominated actor Colin Farrell was honoured with the Governors Award, and ARRI Inc. and Hudson Spider accepted SOC Technical Achievement Awards. The Gordon Parks Foundation was also recognized during the awards for Parks’ leadership and pioneering of social justice.

In addition to celebrating the achievements of the exceptional film makers and crews, the SOC Awards Celebration proudly welcomed Dr. Thomas Lee from the Vision Center at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles to centre screen to salute to the success of the SOC’s continued support, including filming the charity’s fundraising videos.

The SOC Lifetime Achievement Awards are given in recognition of outstanding achievement by an established person within the field of film and video production. For further information about the SOC and the awards visit

lightsource film
litegear spectrum os2

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts

Atomos announces Ninja Phone

Atomos announces Ninja Phone

Atomos announces Ninja Phone, a whisper quiet, 10-bit video co-processor for smart phones and tablets that lets you record from professional HDMI cameras. ...