subscribe to cinematography world

Sixth annual Kodak Film Awards

Feb 26, 2024

The 6th Annual Kodak Film Awards took place at the historic American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Clubhouse on Friday, Feb. 23, 2024 at an invitation-only event that bestowed honours upon Killer Films, Celine Song, Ava DuVernay, Hoyte Van Hoytema, Petra Collins, Andrew Haigh and the acclaimed Prime Video series, Swarm. The annual event recognises artists that shoot their projects on film.

swarm in here


Renowned production company Killer Films received the Film Production Company of the Year award, accepted by prolific producer Christine Vachon, who co-founded the prominent independent production company, Killer Films, alongside Pamela Koffler in 1995. Most recently, Killer Films produced two Academy Award-nominated films, Past Lives and May December.<

Writer/director/producer Ava DuVernay, acclaimed for her latest film Origin, and writer/director Andrew Haigh, of the critically lauded and six-time BAFTA-nominated film All of Us Strangers, were each honoured with the Auteur Award in recognition of their exceptional directorial achievements. The Debut Feature Award was presented to Oscar nominee Celine Song for her remarkable work on her first film, Past Lives, for which she won the DGA Award for First-Time Feature Film. Prime Video’s acclaimed series Swarm, a three-time Emmy nominee, was honored with the Television Series of the Year award, with co-creator Janine Nabers accepting on the show’s behalf. Director and visual artist Petra Collins received the Music Film Director Award (Olivia Rodrigo’s ‘Vampire’), while the Lumiere Award, recognising a distinguished career in Cinematography, was presented to Academy Award nominee Hoyte Van Hoytema (Oppenheimer). 

Past Lives

“We’re excited to celebrate a great year for the film medium. In an era dominated by digital content, artists who create with film—whether for features, television, commercials, or music videos—continue to carve out a distinctive niche,” said Vanessa Bendetti, Head of Motion Picture and Entertainment for Kodak. “The visual properties and process of analog filmmaking significantly contribute to a more profound connection between cinematic storytelling and the audience. This year’s honorees’ deliberate choice to shoot on film illustrates not only an appreciation for the analog art form but also a dedication to preserving its legacy.”
Acclaimed productions captured on KODAK film this awards season include Oppenheimer, Poor Things, Maestro, Killers Of The Flower Moon, Past Lives, All Of Us Strangers, Origin, Saltburn, Dream Scenario, The Secret Life Of Henry Sugar, Swarm, Winning Time, and Succession.

Saltburn, directed by Emerald Fennell. Image copyright © 2022 Amazon Content Services LLC. Courtesy of Amazon Prime.

Header Photo: Hoyte Van Hoytema speaks during the Kodak Film Awards 2024 at ASC Clubhouse on February 23, 2024 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Amanda Edwards/Getty Images for Kodak)


vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts

Panavision large-format optics

Panavision large-format optics

Panavision’s unparalleled rental inventory includes a wide range of modern and legacy lenses that cover acquisition formats larger than 35mm. Explore its...