subscribe to cinematography world

Robbie Ryan wins BSC Award for Poor Things

Feb 5, 2024

Robbie Ryan BSC ISC has won the British Society of Cinematographers (BSC) award for Best Cinematography In A Feature Film Award for his photography of the film Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures). The awards were held at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London and hosted by Tristan Oliver BSC.

Oscar-nominated for his cinematography of Poor Things, four of the last five recipients of this award have gone on to win the Academy Award for Best Cinematography, including last year’s winner, James Friend ASC BSC for All Quiet on the Western Front (Netflix). Said Ryan when accepting the award, “I want to pay tribute to Yorgos, he is an incredible artist and I learn something from him with each film. I also want to thank CineLab for their amazing work – all five of the nominees this year were shot on film, something we should all be celebrating.”

The Operators Award, presented by the British Society of Cinematographers (BSC), Association of Camera Operators (ACO) and Guild of British Camera Technicians (GBCT) named Ossie McLean ACO SOC the winner for his operating on the film Saltburn and in the Television category James Layton ACO and Justin Hawkins were victorious for their work on the Apple TV+ show Silo (“Episode 1”).


Anthony Richmond ASC BSC received the BSC’s highest honour – the Lifetime Achievement Award. Richmond’s 50-year career has seen him shoot cinema classics such as Don’t Look Now (1973) and The Man Who Fell To Earth (1976)to rock n’ roll music videos including the material used in Peter Jackson’s The Beatles: Get Back (2022). Richmond was unable to attend the ceremony but his sons, George Richmond BSC and operator Jonathan “Chunky” Richmond, were on hand to accept the award on his behalf.

The British Society of Cinematographer’s also awarded two cinematographers for their work in the short films, Jack Edwards and Ronnie McQuillan. Stuart Harris was invited as an Honorary Full Member in respect to his body of work, principally in the field of commercials, and his commitment to education. Mr. Harris is currently co-head of cinematography at the National Film and Television School. Angus Hudson BSC was awarded the BSC ARRI John Alcott Award for his services to the society and the cinematography community as a whole.

The BSC bestowed a Special Award on First Steps Cinematography – an education programme set up by Fabian Wagner ASC BSC and supported by Aga Szeliga ACO and Mitch Payne. The scheme works to place mentees on film sets so they can learn their way around the camera department. Some of the first mentees on the scheme were on stage to accept the award alongside Wagner, Szeliga and Payne.

The Bert Easey Technical Achievement Award was awarded to Chemical Wedding. Chemical Wedding’s development of the Artemis and Helios Apps have helped change the way cinematographers approach filmmaking.

litegear spectrum os2

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts

Panavision large-format optics

Panavision large-format optics

Panavision’s unparalleled rental inventory includes a wide range of modern and legacy lenses that cover acquisition formats larger than 35mm. Explore its...