subscribe to cinematography world

Nominations announced for the EE BAFTA Film Awards 2023

Jan 19, 2023

Winners will be announced at the EE BAFTA Film Awards on Sunday 19 February at 7pm on BBC1 and iPlayer, and @BAFTA

BAFTA has announced the nominations for the 2023 EE BAFTA Film Awards, celebrating the very best in film over the past year. A total of 45 feature films received nominations today. View the full list of nominations HERE.

The five films in the Cinematography category are:

  • All Quiet On The Western Front, DP James Friend BSC ASC
  • The Batman, DP Greig Fraser ACS ASC
  • Elvis, DP Mandy Walker AM ACS ASC
  • Empire Of Light, DP Sir Roger Deakins CBE BSC ASC
  • Top Gun: Maverick, DP Claudio Miranda ASC

ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT, Director: Edward Berger, Prague 2021

Highlights include:

  • 14 nominations for All Quiet On The Western Front
  • Ten nominations for The Banshees Of Inisherin and Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Nine nominations for Elvis
  • Five nominations for Tár
  • Four nominations for Aftersun; The Batman; Good Luck to You, Leo Grande; Top Gun: Maverick and The Whale
  • Three nominations for Babylon; Empire of Light; Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio; Living and Triangle of Sadness
  • Two nominations for Avatar: The Way of Water; Decision to Leave; The Quiet Girl; Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical; She Said and The Woman King
  • One nomination for each of the following: All That Breathes; All The Beauty and the Bloodshed; Amsterdam; Argentina, 1985; Black Panther: Wakanda Forever; Blonde; Blue Jean; Brian and Charles; Corsage; Electric Malady; The Fabelmans; Fire of Love; The Good Nurse; Marcel the Shell with Shoes On; Moonage Daydream; Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris; Navalny; Puss in Boots: The Last Wish; Rebellion; See How They Run; The Swimmers; Till; Turning Red and The Wonder
  • The following British shorts were nominated: The Boy, The Mole, The Fox, and The Horse; Middle Watch; Your Mountain Is Waiting; The Ballad of Olive Morris; Bazigaga; Bus Girl; A Drifting Up and An Irish Goodbye
  • Film Name: THE BATMAN
    Copyright: © 2021 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. All Rights Reserved.
    Photo Credit: Jonathan Olley/™ & © DC Comics
    Caption: ROBERT PATTINSON as Bruce Wayne in Warner Bros. Pictures’ action adventure “THE BATMAN,” a Warner Bros. Pictures release.

    Actors Hayley Atwell and Toheeb Jimoh announced the nominations via a live broadcast from BAFTA 195 Piccadilly in London.

    First time nominees feature heavily this year, with 14 of the 24 nominees in the performance categories receiving their first BAFTA Film nomination. They include Ana De Armas (Blonde); Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever) Austin Butler (Elvis), Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin); Brendan Fraser (The Whale); Paul Mescal (Aftersun), and Ke Huy Quan (Everything Everywhere All At Once).

    Olivia Colman in EMPIRE OF LIGHT. Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures. © 2022 20th Century Studios All Rights Reserved.

    Alongside this year’s EE Rising Star nominee Daryl McCormack, four former EE Rising Stars are nominated: Carey Mulligan (2010); Eddie Redmayne (2012); Barry Keoghan (2019) and Micheal Ward (2020).

    In the Best Director category, four of the six are first time Director nominees: Gina Prince-Bythewood (The Woman King); Todd Field(Tár), Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All At Once) and Edward Berger (All Quiet on the Western Front).

    The film with most nominations, All Quiet on the Western Front (14) equals Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon (2001) as the film not the English language with the most nominations in BAFTA’s history.

    Jane Millichip, CEO of BAFTA, said: “The EE BAFTA Film Awards are a celebration of the full spectrum of craft and creativity that go into filmmaking. We extend our warmest congratulations to the 215 people nominated today who represent 45 extraordinary films, spanning a vast range of narrative styles, genres and perspectives. We are proud of the role our Awards play in inspiring the public and future filmmakers around the world, and we look forward to celebrating all the nominees and their films at the ceremony next month.”


    Krishnendu Majumdar, chair of BAFTA, said: “The EE BAFTA Film Awards are at the heart of our mission to recognise exceptional storytelling and the immensely talented people who bring those stories to the big screen, inspiring both audiences and future filmmakers alike. The range of films recognised by our 7500 voters, spanning blockbusters to independent debuts, offers a uniquely British perspective on this year’s best films from around the world. It is a huge achievement to reach this final stage – congratulations to today’s nominees.”

    Anna Higgs, chair of BAFTA Film Committee: “It is heartening to see that BAFTA’s ongoing work to level the playing field continues to have a positive impact on the diversity and scope of talent and titles nominated today. I’m delighted to see an all-women list in our Outstanding Debut category, as well as so many first-time nominees across the board. Today is about celebrating the phenomenal success of this year’s nominees, who together with their fellow filmmakers and crews, have created a truly remarkable year of films.”

    Tom Cruise plays Capt. Pete “Maverick” Mitchell in Top Gun: Maverick from Paramount Pictures, Skydance and Jerry Bruckheimer Films.

    The EE BAFTA Film Awards will take place on Sunday 19 February at the Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall and will be broadcast in the UK from 19:00 – 21:00 on BBC1 and iPlayer, and syndicated globally. Award-winning actor, presenter and author Richard E. Grant will host the ceremony, with presenter Alison Hammond hosting a new BAFTA Studio – to give viewers at home an Access-All-Areas experience of one of the biggest nights in film.

    The nominees for the EE Rising Star Award were announced on 17 January as Aimee Lou Wood, Daryl McCormack, Emma Mackey, Naomi Ackie and Sheila Atim. It is the only award voted for by the British public and it is presented annually to a performer who has demonstrated exceptional talent early in their careers.  Voting is now open at

    The final, third round of voting opens tomorrow (Friday, 20 January) to determine the winners. Round Three is voted for by the full film voting BAFTA membership, and its opt-in chapters or juries. More information can be found here on BAFTA’s voting processes.

    litegear spectrum os2

    vortex 4

    cinematography world

    Related Posts