subscribe to cinematography world

Nominations announced for the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards

Jan 18, 2024

Winners will be announced on Sunday 18 February on BBC1 and iPlayer and @BAFTA

BAFTA today announces the nominations for the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards, celebrating the very best in film over the past year. A total of 38 films received nominations today. View the full list of nominations HERE.

Best Cinematography nominations are:

Killers Of The Flower Moon Rodrigo Prieto ASC AMC
Maestro Matthew Libatique ASC LPS
Oppenheimer Hoyte van Hoytema ASC FSF NSC
Poor Things Robbie Ryan ISC BSC
The Zone Of Interest Łukasz Żal PSC

Maestro. Bradley Cooper as Leonard Bernstein (Director/Writer/Producer) in Maestro. Cr. Jason McDonald/Netflix © 2023.

The ten films with the most nominations are:

  • 13 nominations for Oppenheimer
  • 11 nominations for Poor Things
  • Nine nominations for Killers Of The Flower Moon and The Zone Of Interest
  • Seven nominations for Anatomy Of A Fall, The Holdovers and Maestro
  • Six nominations for All Of Us Strangers
  • Five nominations for Barbie and Saltburn

The following films also nominated include:

  • Four nominations for Napoleon
  • Three nominations for How to Have Sex and Past Lives
  • Two nominations for 20 Days in Mariupol, The Color Purple, Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One, Rye Lane and Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
  • One nomination for each of the following: American Fiction, American Symphony, Beyond Utopia, Blue Bag Life, Bobi Wine: The People’s President, The Boy And The Heron, Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget, The Creator, Earth Mama, Elemental, Ferrari, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, Is There Anybody Out There? The Old Oak, Rustin, Scrapper, Society of the Snow, Still: A Michael J Fox Movie, Wham! and Wonka
  • The following British shorts were nominated: Crab Day, Visible Mending, Wild Summon, Festival of Slaps, Gorka, Jellyfish and Lobster, Such A Lovely Day, and Yellow

11 out of 23 nominees in the performance categories have received their first BAFTA Film nomination, including Sandra Hüller (Anatomy of a Fall and The Zone of Interest), Cillian Murphy (Oppenheimer), Fantasia Barrino and Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple), Colman Domingo (Rustin), Paul Giamatti, Da’Vine Joy Randolph and Dominic Sessa (The Holdovers), Jacob Elordi (Saltburn), Vivian Oparah (Rye Lane), and Teo Yoo (Past Lives).

Past Lives

Alongside this year’s EE Rising Star nominee Jacob Elordi, six former EE Rising Stars are nominated: Emily Blunt (2007), Carey Mulligan (2010), Cillian Murphy (2007), Emma Stone (2011), Margot Robbie (2015) and Barry Keoghan (2019).

In the Best Director category, four of the six are first-time Director nominees: Jonathan Glazer (The Zone Of Interest), Andrew Haigh (All Of Us Strangers), Alexander Payne (The Holdovers), and Justine Triet (Anatomy Of A Fall). None of the Director nominees are previous winners in this category.

Three directors in the 2023-4 BAFTA Breakthrough cohort are nominated in addition to Vivian Oparah. Raine Allen-Miller (Rye Lane) and Charlotte Regan (Scrapper) in Outstanding British Film, and Ella Glendining (Is Anybody Out There?) in Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer.

Jane Millichip, CEO of BAFTA, said: “The 38 films nominated by BAFTA voters today span an extraordinary range of genres and stories.  The field this year is incredibly strong. More films were entered, making the selection process particularly tough for our voting members. The films and talented people nominated represent some of the most talked about films of the year, the most critically acclaimed, and films yet to be released and discovered by audiences. With a month to go until the EE BAFTAs on 18 February, we encourage film fans everywhere to watch as many nominated films as possible and find out more about the people who make them by listening to our new official podcast, Countdown to the BAFTAs, which is available widely on podcast platforms from today.”


Sara Putt, chair of BAFTA, said: “BAFTA’s mission is to celebrate best in British and global filmmaking so we are delighted to showcase 38 extraordinary films in this year’s EE BAFTA Film Award 2024 nominations. BAFTA film voters are creatives, practitioners and film experts who represent all corners of the British and global film industry and they have been voting in their thousands having watched more hours of filmmaking than ever before. There are so many talented people both in front of, and behind the camera involved in bringing every BAFTA-nominated film to life and we look forward with excitement to celebrating their skill and creativity at the EE BAFTAs on 18 February.”

Anna Higgs, chair of BAFTA Film Committee: “It has been an outstanding year for filmmaking as represented by the 38 films nominated today.  They showcase ambitious, creative and hugely impressive voices from independent British debuts to global blockbusters.  From complex moral issues through to joyful journeys of self-discovery, they all ultimately explore human connection.  Which is why we go to the cinema: to be transported into new worlds, to laugh, cry, to be entertained and to be challenged.  The films nominated today deliver all that and more – we hope people up and down the country, and around the world, are inspired to watch them. Congratulations to all the nominees.”

The nominees for the EE Rising Star Award were announced on 10 January as Phoebe Dynevor, Ayo Edebiri, Jacob Elordi, Mia McKenna-Bruce, and Sophie Wilde. It is the only award voted for by the British public and it is presented annually to a performer who has demonstrated exceptional talent early in their careers.  Voting is now open at

Actors Naomi Ackie and Kingsley Ben-Adir announced the nominations via a live broadcast from BAFTA 195 Piccadilly in London earlier today.

The Zone Of Interest

The winners will be announced on 18 February from the Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall in London, as part of an unmissable celebration of film hosted by David Tennant.

The EE BAFTA Film Awards will be broadcast on BBC One and iPlayer in the UK, on BritBox International in USA, Australia, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden and South Africa, as well as BBC Australia in Australia and New Zealand, NOVA Bulgaria, NOVA Greece, Turner Spain, and Canal Plus. With more territories to be confirmed.

The EE BAFTA Film Awards voting takes place over three rounds: Longlisting, Nominations and Winners, by BAFTA’s global voting membership, comprising over 7,800 creatives and film industry practitioners. Latest demographic information on BAFTA’s membership is here.

  • BAFTA announced the longlists of films and talent (culmination of Round One voting which began on 8 December 2023) to 29 December 2024, here.
  • Round Two voting determines the nominations, unveiled today.
  • The final, third voting round opens tomorrow, 19 January, to determine the winners.
  • Round Three is voted for by the full film voting BAFTA membership, and its opt-in chapters or juries.
  • More information can be found here on BAFTA’s voting processes.
lightsource film
litegear spectrum os2

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts