subscribe to cinematography world

Kodak announces honourees for the sixth annual Kodak Film Awards

Feb 25, 2024

Killer Films, Ava DuVernay, Celine Song, Hoyte Van Hoytema, Petra Collins, Andrew Haigh and Prime Video’s ‘Swarm‘ to be honoured February 23 in Los Angeles

Renowned production company Killer Films will receive the Film Production Company of the Year award at the 6th Annual Kodak Film Awards, which will be accepted by prolific producer Christine Vachon. The 6th Annual Kodak Film Awards will take place at the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Clubhouse on Friday, Feb. 23, 2024 at an invitation-only event that will also honour Celine Song, Ava DuVernay, Hoyte Van Hoytema, Petra Collins, Andrew Haigh and the acclaimed Prime Video series, Swarm.


Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal in ALL OF US STRANGERS. Photo by Parisa Taghizadeh, Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures. © 2023 20th Century Studios All Rights Reserved.

Producer Christine Vachon, who co-founded the prominent independent production company Killer Films alongside Pamela Koffler in 1995, will be honoured with the Film Production Company of the Year award. Most recently, Killer Films produced two Academy Award-nominated films, Past Lives and May December, the former notably captured on KODAK film, underscoring their commitment to cinematic excellence in independent filmmaking.


Past Lives

Writer/director/producer Ava DuVernay, acclaimed for her latest film Origin, and writer/director Andrew Haigh, of the critically lauded and six-time BAFTA-nominated film All of Us Strangers, are each set to be honored with the Auteur Award in recognition of their exceptional directorial achievements. Additionally, the Debut Feature Award will be presented to Academy Award nominee Celine Song for her remarkable work on her first film, Past Lives, for which she won the DGA Award for First-Time Feature Film. In addition, Prime Video’s acclaimed series Swarm, a three-time Emmy nominee, is slated to be honoured with the Television Series of the Year award, with co-creator Janine Nabers accepting on the show’s behalf. Director and visual artist Petra Collins will receive the Music Film Director Award (Olivia Rodrigo’s ‘Vampire’), while the Lumiere Award, recognising a distinguished career in Cinematography, will be conferred upon two-time Academy Award nominee Hoyte Van Hoytema (Oppenheimer).

swarm in here


“We’re excited to celebrate a great year for the film medium. In an era dominated by digital content, artists who create with film—whether for features, television, commercials, or music videos—continue to carve out a distinctive niche,” says Vanessa Bendetti, head of motion picture and entertainment for Kodak. “The visual properties and process of analog filmmaking significantly contribute to a more profound connection between cinematic storytelling and the audience. This year’s honourees’ deliberate choice to shoot on film illustrates not only an appreciation for the analog art form but also a dedication to preserving its legacy.”


OPPENHEIMER, written and directed by Christopher Nolan. Creator Melinda Sue Gordon/Universal Pictures. Copyright © Universal Studios. All Rights Reserved.

Acclaimed productions captured on KODAK film this awards season include Oppenheimer, Poor Things, Maestro, Killers of the Flower Moon, Past Lives, All of Us Strangers, Origin, Saltburn, Dream Scenario, The Secret Life of Henry Sugar, Swarm, Winning Time, and Succession.

lightsource film
litegear spectrum os2

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts

Introducing DZOFILM Arles Primes

Introducing DZOFILM Arles Primes

Designed for FF/VV sensors, the new DZOFILM Arles series of cine primes consists of five focal lengths - 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm and 100mm, all with a fast...