subscribe to cinematography world

Greig Fraser ACS ASC wins BAFTA for cinematography on Dune

Mar 16, 2022

The 75th British Academy Film Awards BAFTAs took place on Sunday 13 March at the Royal Albert Hall in London, honouring the best national and foreign films of 2021.

Dune went into the BAFTAs leading the pack for most nominations, with nominations in 11 different categories. The film won five of those awards, with one of them going to the film’s director of photography Greig Fraser ACS ASC for Best Cinematography. Dune also won BAFTAs for special visual effects, sound, original score and production design.

Copyright: © 2021 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Photo Credit: Courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures and Legendary Pictures
Caption: (L-r) REBECCA FERGUSON as Lady Jessica and TIMOTHÉE CHALAMET as Paul Atreides in Warner Bros. Pictures’ and Legendary Pictures’ action adventure “DUNE,” a Warner Bros. Pictures release.

Though unable to attend in person due to a positive Covid test, the Australian cinematographer provided a statement reacting to the monumental victory.

“I am honoured to receive this award from such a distinguished body, which celebrates the crafts of our industry. Dune is greater than the sum of its parts, and I certainly wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for my camera team, the sound department, the outstanding music composers, the hair and makeup artists, editors, costumers, art and production design departments. The list of people I am indebted to is too long to share, but you know who you are.”

“I’d have no business accepting this award without thanking my wife Jodie. You have been the greatest supporter and the reason I am able to forge my path in this challenging industry. And of course Denis Villeneuve. I am grateful you took me on this journey with you, and I can’t wait to see where it takes us next.”

As well as the BAFTA awards, Fraser is also nominated for ASC and Academy Awards for his work on the picture.

We congratulate the other nominees in the cinematography category for their outstanding work: Bruno Delbonnel ASC AFC (The Tragedy Of Macbeth); Ari Wegner ACS (Power Of The Dog);  Dan Laustsen ASC DFF (Nightmare Alley); and Linus Sandgren ASC FSF (No Time To Die).

Read our exclusive feature on Greig Fraser’s work on Dune here


vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts