subscribe to cinematography world

Nine 2024 Cannes Festival winners shot on Kodak film

May 30, 2024

Kodak Motion Picture and Entertainment is celebrating thirty three productions shot on film at the 2024 Cannes Film Festival, with 9 winners. Five on-film titles Anora, Bird, Grand Tour, Kinds of Kindness and Motel Destino, competed for the Palme d’Or, with an additional four titles featured in Un Certain Regard and seventeen titles across Directors’ Fortnight and Critics’ Week captured on film. 16mm film continues to prove its popularity and relevance with 26 of the on-film titles at the festival choosing it as their capture medium.

Motel Destino

It was a great showing for film. Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor and Best First Film (Camera d’or) along with 4 winners in Critics’ Week and the winner of the inaugural Audience Award in Directors’ Fortnight.


Palme d’or
Sean Baker (35mm)

Best Director
Miguel Gomes
for GRAND TOUR (16mm)

Best Performance by an Actor
Jesse Plemons
in KINDS OF KINDNESS directed by Yorgos Lanthimos (35mm)

 Caméra d’or Prize
Halfdan Ullmann Tondel (16mm)
Un Certain Regard


Inaugural Audience Award
UNIVERSAL LANGUAGE by Matthew Rankin (16mm)


French Touch Prize of the Jury
BLUE SUN PALACE by Constance Tsang (16mm)

Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for short film

Awards given by partners
Gan Foundation Award for Distribution
Jour2fête, French distributor for JULIE ZWIJGT (JULIE KEEPS QUIET) by Leonardo Van Dijl (35mm/65mm)

SACD Award
Leonardo Van Dijl & Ruth Becquart, authors of JULIE ZWIJGT (JULIE KEEPS QUIET) (35mm/65mm)

“It’s wonderful to see continued recognition of artists who prioritize film capture at Cannes,” said Vanessa Bendetti, Head of Kodak Motion Picture and Entertainment. “The shot-on-film productions at the festival this year are testimony to the medium’s cinematic value and that you can successfully shoot film all around the world at varied budget levels. Congratulations to each of the exceptional analog filmmakers selected for Cannes 2024. Kodak is proud to support your creative visions.”

Shot-on-film productions competing or screening as part of the Official Selection at the Cannes Film Festival 2024 between 14 – 25 May include:

Official Competition

  • Motel Destino – Karim Aïnouz, DP Hélène Louvart (16mm)
  • Bird – Andrea Arnold, DP Robbie Ryan (16mm)
  • Anora – Sean Baker, DP Drew Daniels (35mm)
  • Grand Tour – Miguel Gomes, DP Gui Liang | Sayombhu Mukdeeprom | Rui Poças (16mm)
  • Kinds of Kindness – Yorgos Lanthimos, DP Robbie Ryan (35mm)

Un Certain Regard

  • September Says – Ariane Labed, DP Balthazar Lab (35mm)
  • Viet and Nam – Truong Minh Quy, DP Son Doan (16mm)
  • Armand – Halfdan Ullmann Tøndel, DP Pål Ulvik Rokseth (16mm)
  • When the Light Breaks Through – Rúnar Rúnarsson, DP Sophia Olsson (16mm)

Directors’ Fortnight – Long Features Competition

  • East of Noon (Sharq 12) Hala Elkoussy, DP Abdelsalam Moussa (35mm/16mm)
  • Gazer – Ryan J. Sloan, DP Matheus Bastos (16mm) first feature film
  • Savanna and the Mountain (A savana e a montanha) – Paulo Carneiro, DP Duarte Domingos (16mm)
  • Sister Midnight – Karan Kandhari, DP Sverre Sørdal (35mm)
  • To a Land Unknown – Mahdi Fleifel, DP Thodoros Mihopoulos (16mm)
  • Christmas Eve at Miller’s Point – Tyler Taormina, DP Carson Lund (Digital/16mm)
  • Universal Language – Matthew Rankin, DP Isabelle Stachtchenko (16mm)

Directors’ Fortnight – Short Films

  • Immaculata – Kim Lêa Sakkal, DP Paul Faltz (16mm)
  • Our Own Shadow (Nuestra sombra) – Agustina Sánchez Gavier, DP Constanza Sandoval (16mm)
  • The Moving Garden (O jardim em movimento) – Inês Lima, DP Victor Neves Ferreira (16mm)
  • When the Land Runs Away (Quando a terra foge / Quand la terre se dérobe) – Frederico Lobo (16mm)

Critics’ Week – Long Features Competition

  • Blue Sun Palace – Constance Tsang, DP Norm Li (16mm)
  • Julie Keeps Quiet (Julie Zwijgt) – Leonardo Van Dijl, DP Nikolas Karakatsanis (35mm)

Critics’ Week – Short Films

  • My Senses Are All I Have to Offer (As minhas sensações são tudo o que tenho para oferecer) – Isadora Neves Marques, DP Marta Simões (16mm)
  • What we Ask of a Statue is That it Doesn’t Move (Ce qu’on demande à une statue c’est qu’elle ne bouge pas) – Daphné Hérétakis, DP Daphné Hérétakis | Robin Fresson (16mm)
  • She Stays (Ella se Queda) – Marinthia Gutiérrez Velazco, DP Mayela Ponce (16mm)
  • Montsouris Park (Montsouris) – Guil Sela, DP Tara-Jay Bangalter (16mm)

ACID Selection – Long Features

  • It Doesn’t Matter – Josh Mond (Digital/35mm)

Official Selection

Court Métrage/Short Films Competition

  • Ootidė – Razumaitė Eglė, DP Nojus Drasutis (16mm Reversal)

Short Film Corner

  • Zasady – Amanda Renee Knox (16mm)
  • Dog Days – Carlotta Beck Peccoz (16mm)
  • Two of Hearts – Mashie Alam (35mm)
  • Farandole! – Barbara Pierron (16mm)
  • Ultraviolet – Veerle De Wilde (16mm)

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts

Introducing DZOFILM Arles Primes

Introducing DZOFILM Arles Primes

Designed for FF/VV sensors, the new DZOFILM Arles series of cine primes consists of five focal lengths - 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm and 100mm, all with a fast...