subscribe to cinematography world

BSC Award winners announced

Feb 15, 2023

The winners of the 67th British Society of Cinematographers Awards were announced at the new venue of the Royal Lancaster Hotel in Mayfair, with almost 400 guests in attendance.

BSC Lifetime Achievement Award 2023

Roger Pratt BSC

The evening began with an emotional tribute by Oliver Stapleton BSC and Terry Gilliam to this year’s lifetime achievement recipient – Roger Pratt BSC. Roger who was been a member of the society since 1986 and has shot such acclaimed films as Batman, Mona Lisa, Brazil, The Fisher King, 12 Monkeys, Shadowlands, The End Of The Affair and much more becomes the 18th member of the society to be awarded Lifetime Achievement.

pictured L to R – Terry Gilliam – May Pratt – Roger Pratt BSC – Suki)
Photo by Richard Blanshard

After dinner the Awards continued:

BSC Short Film Cinematography Award 2021

Student winner – Jack Edwards (National Film and Television School) for Whiteboy
BSC Club winner – Michael Filocamo for Baba
Award sponsored by ARRI

The Operators Award – Television Drama 2022

Vince McGahon ACO Assoc BSC for Slow Horses “Bad Tradecraft”
Award sponsored by Ronford Baker

BSC Bert Easey Technical Award 2023

founder Lawrence Sher ASC
Award sponsored by PKE Lighting

The Operators Award – Feature Film 2022

Daniel Bishop ACO Assoc BSC SOC for All Quiet On The Western Front
Award sponsored by Panavision

BSC Special Achievement Award 2023

Jost Vacano ASC BVK
In gratitude for his life long fight to secure author’s rights for Cinematographers
Award sponsored by CVP

(pictured L to R – Ben Wheeler BSC and Steve Knight)
Photo by Richard Blanshard

Cinematography In A Television Drama 2022

Ben Wheeler BSC for The Tourist “Episode One”
Award sponsored by PixiPixel

BSC ARRI John Alcott Memorial Award 2023

Deanne (Dee) Edwards
Award sponsored by ARRI

(pictured L to R – Kate Reid BSC – James Friend ASC BSC – Adrian Bull)
Photo by Richard Blanshard

Cinematography In A Feature Film 2022

James Friend ASC BSC for All Quiet On The Western Front
Award sponsored by Cinelab Film & Digital

(pictured L to R – Michael Filocamo – Jack Edwards – Ben Wheeler BSC – Jost Vacano ASC BVK – James Friend ASC BSC – Daniel Bishop ACO Assoc BSC SOC)
Photo by Richard Blanshard

Thank you to everyone who supported these awards and came to our 67th celebration

vortex lighting

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts