subscribe to cinematography world

Stephan Pehrsson BSC wins for Photography & Lighting Fiction BAFTA Television Craft Award

Apr 29, 2024

BAFTA has announced the winners of the BAFTA Television Craft Awards at a ceremony in London, celebrating the exceptional creativity, skill and craft of behind-the-scenes television talent and the best programmes of 2023, with Stephan Pehrsson BSC winning for Photography & Lighting Fiction for Demon 79 (Black Mirror) and Benedict Sanderson, winner of Photography: Factual for The Detectives: Taking Down An OCG.

Other nominees for Photography & Lighting Fiction were Eben Bolter for The Last of Us, Ed Rutherford for The Long Shadow, and Rik Zang for The Sixth Commandment.

Other nominees for Photography: Factual were Bertie Gregory,  Will West, Tom Walker, Anna Dimiriadis for Animals Up Close with Bertie Gregory , Jean-Louis Schuller for The Man Who Played With Fire and Narayan Van Maele and Patrick Smith for Dublin Narcos.

The following programmes won two BAFTAs each:

  • Charlie Brooker and Bisha K Ali won the Writer Drama category and Stephan Pehrsson BSC won for Photography & Lighting Fiction for Demon 79 (Black Mirror).
  • Nikki Parsons, Ollie Bartlett and Richard Valentine won the Director: Multi-camera category, and Julio Himede, Tim Routledge, Kojo Samuel, Michael Sharp and Dan Shipton won Entertainment Craft Team for Eurovision Song Contest 2023.
  • The Editing Team behind Once Upon A Time In Northern Ireland won Editing: Factual and the documentary’s composer Simon Russell won Original Music: Factual.
  • Atli Örvarsson won Original Music: Fiction and Gavin Bocquet and Amanda Bernstein won Production Design for their work on Silo.
  • The Sound Team behind Slow Horses won Sound: Fiction, and Sam Williams collected a BAFTA for Editing: Fiction, for their work on episode 1 of the show.

Demon 79

Director: Factual was won by Peter Beard and Bruce Fletcher for Otto Baxter: Not a F…ing Horror Story.

Peter Hoar won Director: Fiction for The Last Of Us.

Shining a spotlight on the very best emerging talent in the industry, the Emerging Talent: Fiction category was won by writer Kat Sadler for Such Brave Girls, whilst the Emerging Talent: Factual saw director Fred Scott win for London Bridge: Facing Terror.

BAFTA Breakthrough Jack Rooke collected the BAFTA for Writer: Comedy for Big Boys.

Aisha Bywaters, also a BAFTA Breakthrough alumni, received her second BAFTA forScripted Casting for Three Little Birds, having won in 2022 for We are Lady Parts.

First-time BAFTA winners included, Sharon Long, Costume Design for The Great, Lisa Parkinson, Make-up & Hair Design for The Long Shadow, and Benedict Sanderson, winner of Photography: Factual for The Detectives: Taking down an OCG.

The Sound Team won Sound: Factual for The Coronation of TM The King and Queen Camilla.

Tamsin McGee, Ben Hanbury, Hugo Moss and Paul McDonnell won for Wilderness in the Titles and Graphic Identity category.

Tim Crosbie, Caimin Bourne, Jet Omoshebi, Dan Weir, Cinesite and David Stephens won Special, Visual & Graphic Effects for The Witcher.

The Television Craft Special Award was presented by ITV presenter Ria Hebden to MAMA Youth Project in recognition of their work helping young people from underrepresented groups to access careers in the television and media industries. Founder and CEO Bob Clarke accepted the Award. More information about MAMA Youth Project’s work is found here.

The BAFTA Television Craft Awards were hosted for the first time by award-winning TV presenter Stacey Dooley, and took place at The Brewery London. The night featured host of top TV talent as guest presenters including; Angelica Bell, Bettany Hughes, Callum Scott Howells, Cliff Parisi, Daniel Laurie, Diane Carson, Emily Lloyd-Saini, Humphrey Ker, Jodie Ounsley, Josh Tedeku, Judi Love, Katie Piper, Liz Bonnin, Mawaan Rizwan, Myles Kamwendo, Ray Panthaki, Ria Hebden, Rochelle Neil, Roisin Gallagher, Saffron Coomber, Tanya Moodie and Yazmin Belo.

Highlights of the BAFTA TV Craft Awards will be shared via @BAFTA social channels on YouTube, Instagram and X – follow #BAFTACraftAwards.

BAFTA Television Craft Awards is supported by its official partners, Ecotricity and The Partnership Group and Category Sponsors 3 Mills Studios, BENlabs, Hotcam and ScreenSkills High-end Television Skills Fund

The BAFTA Television Awards with P&O Cruises, hosted by Rob Beckett and Romesh Ranganathan, will take place on Sunday 12 May and will be broadcast at 7pm on BBC One and iPlayer.

lightsource film
litegear spectrum os2

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts

Absen Europe opens first UK showroom

Absen Europe opens first UK showroom

World leading LED display brand, Absen is proud to announce the grand opening of its first UK showroom, in Theale, Berkshire.  Serving as a hub for Absen’s...

The 77th Festival de Cannes opens

The 77th Festival de Cannes opens

“You may not be aware of this, but you are about to enter a parallel universe called the Cannes Vortex.” Camille Cottin was already on stage at the Grand...