subscribe to cinematography world

BAFTA confirms committee Chairs and Deputy Chairs

Jul 19, 2021

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has today announced the newly elected chairs and deputy chairs of its Film, Games and Television Committees. The chairs of the Committees will also sit on BAFTA’s Board of Trustees.

Anna Higgs has been elected as chair of the Film Committee, having held the position of deputy chair for two years. Anna will serve alongside Alexandra Derbyshire, who has been elected deputy chair.

Sara Putt has been elected as chair of the Television Committee, having served as deputy chair of the Television Committee and previously the Chair of the LIT (Learning, Inclusion and Talent) Committee. Nicky Sargent has been elected deputy chair of the Television Committee.

Jo Twist will continue as chair of the Games Committee until 2022, serving alongside Des Gayle who has been elected deputy chair of games.

Krishnendu Majumdar continues as chair of BAFTA, with Sara Putt who has been recently appointed by the Board as deputy chair of BAFTA.  Sara will serve for the next twelve months before a new deputy chair of BAFTA is appointed in summer 2022 to serve a year before succeeding Krishnendu at the end of his three-year term as chair.

Krishnendu Majumdar, BAFTA chair said: “I’m delighted to welcome Anna and Sara as the new chairs of the Film and TV Committees, and am thrilled to also be working closely with Sara in her new role as deputy chair of BAFTA.  Sara brings with her a wealth of industry and charity experience and is working with me as part of the cross industry group looking to address the serious issue of bullying and harassment in our industries.

“Together with Jo who continues as chair of our Games committee, all our chairs and members of the Film, Games and Television committees are absolutely at the heart of BAFTA.  As volunteers they lend their time and expertise to enable BAFTA to support and nurture talented people from across our industries to help them develop and succeed in their careers, and I thank each and everyone one of them for all that they do.”

All Sector Committee chairs are directors of BAFTA, and sit on the Board of Trustees.

BAFTA’s Board of Trustees for 2021 – 2022 comprises:

  • Chair of BAFTA: Krishnendu Majumdar
  • Deputy chair of BAFTA, and Chair, Television Committee: Sara Putt
  • Chair, Film Committee: Anna Higgs
  • Chair, Games Committee: Jo Twist
  • Chair, Learning, Inclusion and Talent Committee: Ade Rawcliffe
  • *Chair, Commercial Committee: Bal Samra
  • *Chair, Finance, Audit and Risk Committee: Paul Taiano OBE
  • *Chair, BAFTA North America
  • *Deputy chair, BAFTA North America
  • Four further co-opted positions to be selected over the summer

*denotes co-opted position

A full list of Sector Committee and Board of Trustee members can be found at

lightsource film
litegear spectrum os2

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts

Absen Europe opens first UK showroom

Absen Europe opens first UK showroom

World leading LED display brand, Absen is proud to announce the grand opening of its first UK showroom, in Theale, Berkshire.  Serving as a hub for Absen’s...

The 77th Festival de Cannes opens

The 77th Festival de Cannes opens

“You may not be aware of this, but you are about to enter a parallel universe called the Cannes Vortex.” Camille Cottin was already on stage at the Grand...