subscribe to cinematography world

American Society of Cinematographers honours 2023 Student Heritage Award Winners

Oct 17, 2023

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced the 2023 Student Heritage Awards winners. Three student filmmakers were chosen for demonstrating exceptional cinematography skills in their submitted work.

 The Owen Roizman Student Heritage Award (Graduate Category) was given to Hannah Platzer from the American Film Institute for Im Finstern.

The George Spiro Dibie Heritage Award (Undergraduate Category) was presented to Thomas Bolles of Loyola Marymount University for Drawn Into Darkness.

The Haskell Wexler Documentary Award to Matthew Cheung from Loyola Marymount for Balancing Act.

The awards ceremony, sponsored by Sony, was held here at the ASC Clubhouse. ASC President Shelly Johnson introduced Student Awards co-chairs Crag Kief and Armando Salas who presented the winners with their awards.

The Student Heritage awards are just one of many educational programs offered by the organisation to support a new generation of talent in the early stages of their filmmaking careers.

To be considered, a student’s undergraduate, graduate or documentary project is submitted and judged by an ASC blue-ribbon panel for demonstrating exceptional cinematographic skill.

Many of those recognised by the ASC Student Heritage Award program since it was inaugurated in 1999 have gone on to have successful careers in filmmaking, including the Student Awards Committee co-chairs Kief and Salas, alongside other ASC members Matthew Clark, Nelson Cragg, Masanobu Takayanagi and Lisa Wiegand.

For additional information about the ASC, visit

lightsource film
vortex lighting

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts