subscribe to cinematography world

All Quiet On The Western Front wins Excellence in Sound for a Feature Film

Feb 16, 2023

The Association of Motion Picture Sound (AMPS) chair Andrew Wilson and award group leader Graham Hartstone presented the coveted award to supervising sound editor & sound designer Frank Kruse on Saturday 5th February in the company of fellow filmmakers and UK Guild members.

On the film winning, AMPS chair Andrew Wilson commented:

All Quiet On The Western Front is a remarkable film. The way it conveys the harsh brutality of war is at times graphic, and so much of the impact of that is down to the detail in the sound. The visuals are stark and the performances excellent, but it’s the sound that brings the audience so much emotional connection with the characters and the action. The film is an exceptional example of the way sound can not only support, but at times tell the story and we are delighted to recognise the work of Viktor, Ondřej, Alexander, Frank, Markus, Stefan, Lars and their teams.”

ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT, Director: Edward Berger, Prague 2021

On receiving news of the win, the sound team of All Quiet On The Western Front commented:

“We are absolutely thrilled and grateful to receive this very special recognition of our work. All Quiet‘s sound is the result of a fantastic collaboration we had not only within the sound crew, but also with the many departments on set including editorial, the composer Volker and of course Edward, our director. To see it recognised and awarded by experts of the craft is a wonderful reward for all of us. With the outstanding field of other nominees this year, we certainly did not see this coming and feel deeply honoured receiving this from the AMPS members. Thank you all so much!”

All Quiet On The Western Front is the first International film to receive this award.

The prestigious polished bronze AMPS trophy is awarded annually for Excellence in Sound for a Feature Film.

Of the previous nine award winners, eight have gone on to win at BAFTA and six of those also won the Oscar.

All winning nominees receive a trophy: Frank Kruse, Viktor Prášil, Ondřej Vondráček, Alexander Buck, Markus Stemler , Lars Ginzel, Stefan Korte.

In its 10th year, sponsors of the AMPS Awards are Dolby Laboratories, Pinewood Group, Sennheiser and Bubblebee Industries.

litegear spectrum os2

vortex 4

cinematography world

Related Posts